Material UI Lessons Learned

I’ve spent the last few weeks diving into Material UI. I’m building a Meteor app with React and Flow Router. So far, Meteor, React and Material UI have been a great mix. I received several pm’s after my first Material UI post.

I just wanted to share some of my experiences and I’m hoping other people will contribute their lessons learned.

1. The Material UI docs are great but they are not always up-to date. There are some components missing such as the Enhanced button, switches and text areas. Also many components have additional features not listed. Any time I use a new component I go to the github source and look at the jsx file for the component. The propTypes usually give you a very clear picture of the available features. The src folder also has new components that are not in the docs.
  2. I’m new to React, but Material UI looks like it is well written. I think I’ve improved my own React programming by studying how they built their components.
  3. Flexbox works very well for laying out Material UI components. I’m using no bootstrap and no CSS except for a few lines for the root-props. I know inline styles are a bit controversial, but I find it much easier to debug.
  4. I switched from manually building Material UI with npm and browserify to izzilab:material-ui, because I was wasting time on build issues. The atmosphere package has been hassle free.
  5. To set a button as a link use
    linkButton={true}
    and you also have to set
    disableTouchRipple={true}
    Otherwise, the link takes 2 clicks.
  6. GridTiles don’t have a built in click handler so I use bind with onTouch Tap:
    onTouchTap={this._tileClick.bind(this, key)}
    Then use the key on the handler to reference which item was clicked.
  7. There are 2 different components for MenuItem one is in MUI and one is in MUI.Libs. They have slightly different functionality. The one in the docs is from MUI.Libs. I find the other one good for menu links.