Meteor 1.3 + ES2015 Modules for dummies

Hi there!

I am quite new to Meteor (and to the latest trends in JS in general), but I have already managed to get familiar with Meteor 1.2 (FlowRouter, React).

Previously I was trying to learn React via Nope.js/Npm/Webpack/Babel/ES2015 way and found it irritatingly overcomplicated. But then I came across Meteor and instantly fell in love with it’s simplicity: no importing/exporting, no hassle with libraries, Meteor’s DDP felt like a gift from above. This is how it felt for a newbie.

Now with Meteor 1.3 I feel (probably totally unduly) like those nightmares of “cool and too advanced” java script are getting back :sweat:

There is a lot of hype around ES2015 and its modules, but usually its advantages are presented as granted, nobody really explains to dummies like me why is that thing so useful. I read it helps to structure the code, but I didn’t have so much trouble with it in Meteor 1.2. Another thing is loading order — what’s that and why is it so important?

Thanks!

6 Likes

@mrkvs you can safely “ignore” whatever you find “advanced” in meteor because the platform is fully backwards compliant.

You can continue using all the ideas you’ve liked in the past about meteor and in time, when you feel more comfortable, sprinkle in those new features and as you grow even more comfortable, you may decide for yourself what you are most productive with.

3 Likes

Thanks for your reply!
You see, I feel like I’m missing something. I’m certain the hype isn’t groundless, that’s why I’m trying to get into this thing.

1 Like

Well, the “missing” part is open to debate.

These new advanced javascript (and meteor) features allow you more
control on your application structure as your app grows, but you can
certainly live without them since they were not around (at least not as
readily available) last year and e were just fine developing apps back
then :slight_smile:

And everything you see on meteor is backwards compatible, so don’t let