Meteor Deploy and IP address

I’m pretty new to Meteor and I’ve been developing a simple reporting tool to generate graphs and tables based on some data in the companies MSSQL database.

I’ve built the majority of the tool and got it working locally. It uses emgee3/meteor-mssql to connect to the database and import data to local collections. It’s been very easy to set up and it’s working great.

The problems have arisen when deploying to meteor.com for further testing.

Our SQL Server is naturally behind a firewall with IP whitelist rules. After much messing around opening ports for various IPs I have finally written that uses the NPM ‘public-ip’ to find the IP address of where the server is.

This is different from the 7 public IPs you find when pinging myapp.meteor.com, However neither that IP or the 7 public IPs can access our SQL Server.

I’ve been using a simple telnet connection check on the app and it can’t connect when on meteor.com

Is there something I am missing? Has anyone else had any success connecting through a firewall from a deployed meteor app? I know that heroku has ‘Proximo’ for exactly this, is this something I should play with?

Please don’t get me wrong, but trying to connect a free and public app hosting service to your private enterprise infrastructure and expecting it to work flawlessly, even attempting it, all the while labeling the experience a nightmare is injustice to the meteor deploy offering.

You should either host the app internally, or go for one of the many paid alternatives (modulus, heroku, aws, digital ocean etc) who cover at least base enterprise legal requirements.

That being said, *.meteor.com public IP addresses are reverse proxy addresses which load balance back to the meteor app servers which actually host your app.