Meteor testing best practice?

Hi. I’m new to Meteor, and finding it hard to really make any headway when it comes to deciding on how best to test my Meteor apps. I had such high hopes for Velocity when I read about it first, but to be honest it doesn’t seem to be moving forward much. Their site lacks good documentation, instead suggesting you go buy their book. Incidentally, I was going to buy the book but the release of new chapters seems too slow.

Is there any consensus among the Meteor community regarding how best to test Meteor code? Is Velocity used by most Meteor developers?

Hi

Thanks for posting this. I’m one of the core developers on Velocity and also the author of the book.

You’re right about calling out the documentation aspect of Velocity. We recently rewrote http://velocity.meteor.com to make it simpler for people to get started and we are also in the process of considating our docs. I’ve already started doing this for Meteor Cucumber, which you can see here:

Http://chimp.readme.io/docs/meteor-cucumber

The rest of the frameworks will soon follow this approach.

As a new user, I understand that it’s hard to get all the concepts but you should also know that Velocity itself has never stopped being worked on since last June and is still very active. You can check atmosphere and github and see some healthy numbers for usage and updated. Meteor also announced that Velocity will be integrated into the core in the coming releases so you would be right in using it.

The book content is up to date with the latest release of Velocity. The chapters have been a little slow over the last month but I have been working on getting all the material ready for it. If you would like an early peek at the example app that uses all the concepts, you can check:

Until the docs are fully updated, I suggest diving in and seeking out help here. We are always listening and ready to work with people.