Notes on enabling TypeScript in an existing Meteor app (June 2021)

I recently successfully enabled TypeScript for an existing Meteor project. I had about ~2000 tsc errors. I managed to bring it down to ~200 by disabling some very noisy rules:

"noImplicitAny": false,
"noImplicitThis": false,
"strictNullChecks": false,

Most errors were easily fixable, either by adding some JSDoc, or by changing file extensions to .ts or .tsx and adding some type annotations. Some of those were non-trivial, and I think I managed to bypass the difficulty by using some very ugly type casting. I am new to TypeScript, I hope I find a better solution later.

One particular pain point, for a TypeScript beginner, is that Meteor.server is missing from the
@types/meteor package, so I had to cook something up to access Meteor methods
in server tests:

const methods = (
	Meteor as unknown as {server: {method_handlers: Record<string, Function>}}
).server.method_handlers;

Isn’t there a better way? Is the mostly undocumented and arcane Meteor.server the only way to test Meteor methods? Somebody already mentionned this particular issue earlier here

I had to create my own typings for the global variable Factory provided by the dburles:factory Meteor package. This is similar to issues others are having, for instance,

and

I had to update my linter (xojs/xo) to the latest version for better TypeScript support, then disabled a bunch of rules and fixed the rest, most of it automagically.