OSX or linux? which one is better for meteor

I am a beginner on programming, and now developing meteor on Linux, but I heard most programmers in silicon valley are using Macbook, so I am planning to buy a MacBook.
but I wonder will it improve productivity if using OSX? or any benefit by using OSX than windows or Linux?

There no much different with OSX or Linux when it comes to Meteor.

This is question whether to use Apple vs Others :smile:
I prefer to use Mac it has bettter UI and some other tools than Linux. I like to it instead of Windows because you don’t need worry about Virus.

It’s a personal choice.

I disagree with you on this @arunoda. Linux has so so so so many tools that makes developing easier.

Let’s make a very small example.

I test hundreds of different configuration for my app. Software configurations.

With linux I have docker, I have Btrfs, on 2 years old machine it takes around 50 minutes and a few tens of MB of space.

With mac I have to use AUFS, it takes at least 1 gig of space, and docker will give me headaches (think networking).

Mac is better looking (not more usable), yes, but you are paying 3000$ for a notebook that the competition sell for 1500$.

Mac and Linux dont make a difference if you are making small software. Or learning. But mac will make your wallet MUCH thinner.

Another example:

the blk-io patch. 3-7 times faster I/O in many REAL use cases. Forget to see it on any OSx kernel or NT kernel for the next 4/5 years at least, it’s simply too hard to implement.

One order of magnitude times faster I/O. So on your 3000$ macbook pro it takes 1 minutes+, on my 1500$ thinkpad it takes 5/6 seconds.

You will have a real hard time convincing me it’s just a question of preference. Unless you prefer to be slower and less productive :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

@sammyjiang, about the silicon valley thing: it’s not true.