So how to learn Meteor now with all the changes?

I’m an aspiring programmer and I chose Javascript / Meteor as my first main language/framework (besides HTML/CSS obviously). I’ve been reading and watching a lot of videos and had started the Discover Meteor book but now I’m really getting discouraged with all the changes happening to Meteor.

First of all it’s really confusing having different guides use Iron Router and Flow Router.

Now that I’m finding out that Blaze is pretty much going extinct, I really don’t know what the best way to learn Meteor is and if there’s even any resources that can help me get prepared for how to use React + Meteor.

I’m wondering whether I should just learn Node.js / Express / Angular or React and pretty much go with a MEAN stack instead since it really doesn’t seem Meteor is as beginner friendly as it use to be. Maybe I can come back to Meteor in a year or so when it’s more stable?

Any guidance and recommendation would be appreciated.

2 Likes

For now you can jump into Meteor and Blaze. Learn the basics (you’ll see how simple it is to start with Meteor), build a simple app, and then search for some Meteor-React tutorials and try to rebuild it. This is the best way of learning. Anyway, It is only a view layer. Meteor is much more. Although it is better to use React for big projects, the knowledge about Blaze is also very important in the Meteor world, and I think that it will be important for a long long time, so don’t worry about that. This is not a waste of time :wink:

If I was starting all over again, knowing what I know, I’d still follow the Blaze path.

Learn Meteor through the prism of Blaze. The learning resources are well established and the mindshare is greater.

When I felt I knew Meteor, I’d start to look at React.

Learn React, it is used everywhere nowadays and is the best time investment. There are a lot of examples, some are with Meteor. Don’t forget about the docs.