SOAP Webservices with Meteor

Hi all,

I have to use some javascript libraries to program a webservice, which must be implemented with SOAP.

My apologizes for the newbie question, I am new with Meteor, but I would like to know which is the best approach to implement the SOAP Webservice with Meteor. Does Meteor offer packages or tools to do it?

Any suggestion or comment is welcomed :slight_smile:

Regards
SkyDog

There is a package which has had a good few installs: https://atmospherejs.com/zardak/soap

I have not tested it, but there are no open issues and it seems reasonably active.

Hi robfallows,

thanks a lot for your answer, it helps me :smile:

I am currently focused in the SOAP Webservices, not really in the creation of webpages to use the javascript functionality.

Do you think that Meteor is the best approach for me? I don’t know which other development environments than Meteor could be integrated with javascript.

Regards
Skydog

You seem to be saying that you want to use Meteor to write SOAP endpoints, rather than consumers (e.g. web apps) of SOAP endpoints - have I got that right?

The short answer is that you can use Meteor for this, although whether it’s your best option depends on what you are providing SOAP endpoints onto. For example, if you’re interfacing with MongoDB, then Meteor offers you a very easy way into this. If not, then Meteor may not be the right choice. However, it’s been a l-o-n-g time since I looked at SOAP (other than in the bathroom :wink:), and I don’t know where else you might look.

I really need to use javascript libraries, and Meteor integrates javascript very well, right?

I don’t need to interact with MongoDB, but I need a development environment where I can do quick a prototipe and a productive version of the SOAP Webserver. And you are right, I want to program the SOAP endpoints, not the consumers.

Well, there are lots of JS frameworks out there. I love Meteor, so I’m not the right person for an objective response!