[SOLVED] Meteor Category - Sub Category Menu (Coding Help)

Hi All,

I am new to Meteor but acquired some fair knowledge of this framework. I am creating one App in which I have to Build a Category Management Module, I am using a Category collection for this and in the document my values are like this

{
_id:
name:
parentID:

ā€¦
}

I have tried few things to make it recursive, but failed to do it, what I need is a drop down which contains all the categories with their children. like the sample below:

I would appreciate if anyone here can help in this issue:

Right Now what I am doing is fetching me to only 2 levels, I mean Top Parent and a Sub Child, I want unlimited levels for this, I know it might be possible through recursive function, but unable to find the way

Template:

<template name="categoryselect">

<select id="category" name="category" class="category">
<option value="">--Select--</option>
{{#each get_categories}}
<option value="{{_id}}">{{name}}</option>
{{#each get_sub_categories}}
{{> subcategoryselect}}
{{/each}}
{{/each}}

</select>

</template>

<template name="subcategoryselect">
<option value="{{_id}}">--{{name}}</option>
</template>

Template Helpers :

Template.categoryselect.helpers({
'get_categories': function(){
    return Categories.find({parentID:''});

},

'get_sub_categories': function(){
    return Categories.find({parentID:this._id});
 }

});

Thanks and Regards,
Manu

How do you store the categories in your database?

Hi,

Thanks for your reply,

I store it like this, here parentID contains the _id of its parent, and it is blank if there is no parent associated with it.

Please refer below

{
_id:
name:
parentID: // _id of the parent and blank in case there is no parent
}

Thanks and Regards,
Manu

Here is the official manual: http://docs.mongodb.org/manual/tutorial/model-tree-structures which shows simple queries on how to get the right queries. Gives you a good overview of the options.