Testing Meteor apps in 2018, a rant

/rant on

Testing Meteor apps in 2018

After almost 2 years with Meteor, there is one thing that just keeps staying hard, unreliable, and really obscure: testing Meteor apps.

Disclaimer: Probably almost all of this and my issues is because I’m still a young engineer, but I feel it still doesn’t justify the level of absolute hair-pulling/ripping experience I’ve experienced so far. I apologize in advance for hurt feelings, I’m a bit emotional right now as well.

Package overload

There is large amount of test driver packages:

• dispatch:mocha
  • cultofcoders:mocha
  • practicalmeteor:mocha
  • meteortesting:mocha
  • tmeasday:acceptance-test-driver
  • mike:mocha deprecated
  • https://github.com/arunoda/laika deprecated
  • chimp, tried it once, was excessively messy, then quit

Each of these have subtle, unclear differences (I use 3 of these 8 for various terrible reasons, some of which I can’t even remember).

• Some tests pass with one driver, others don’t
  • Some tests fail with one driver, others pass
  • Sometimes they support all mocha features, sometimes they don’t (like .only)
  • Sometimes they run in the browser, sometimes they only run in the console
  • Sometimes they watch tests properly, sometimes they don’t
  • Sometimes they crash with one headless browser, sometimes they don’t (I’ve tried them all, chrome, nightmare, spacejam, electron, and others I can’t remember)
  • Sometimes they run client and server tests, sometimes they only run server tests

Which one is recommended today? meteortesting:mocha. Which one will be recommended tomorrow? Nobody knows. Right now meteortesting:mocha doesn’t seem to even be very actively maintained.

There are a bunch of packages that are supposed to help with writing tests:

• dburles:factory: cool but not always reliable. Lacks powerful relational collection tools
  • xolvio:cleaner: Does its simple job (or at least I think)
  • fakerJS: Cool stuff