The state of Meteor and AWS S3 file upload?

I’m working on a file-upload heavy app, and for the past few weeks I’ve tried a couple times to set that part of the app up, without success. I will say I am a novice with files and AWS alike, so maybe I’m just making bad calls, but it seems like this is excessively complicated and/or unsupported at the moment.

I will be handling very sensitive data from our clients, and I’d like to have high security along with performance and reliability, hence my choice for AWS S3, which also keeps the cost down, compared to pricey mongoDB storage.

I’ve looked at the following packages:

• CollectionFS: has an s3 adapter, that hasn’t been updated since 2014
  • Meteor Slingshot: No update since May 2016
  • Veliov/Meteor Files: Uses knox for the upload, which is outdated and no longer maintained.

Veliov’s package is probably the most promising, as they are planning to use EvaporateJS to replace knox. After several days of playing with a super basic file upload from EvaporateJS, I’m still failing, I have no clue where to start.

Is anyone successfully uploading files to S3 in their apps, and can help me out with this? Or is there another good production-ready solution?

1 Like

We do all the time with Slingshot. Go with slingshot. There’s not been many updates because it’s mature and stable, and does what it needs to do. There are pretty good examples scattered around the internet; and we’ve gotten it to work on both desktop and mobile, with camera and photo library, movie files, etc…

8 Likes

It is such a critical part of my app, I’m hesitant to use packages that seem to not be maintained, even the issue tracker of meteor-slingshot looks dead, and the company edgee.com’s website is down.

With meteor changing so much in the past months, I’m not sure it’s wise to rely on it?

I recently used https://github.com/Lepozepo/S3, it worked well and was integrated in our app in under an hour.

3 Likes