What would I lose going with Apollo + Graphcool for my React app?

Ive done one project with Metoer (+ React) so Im not the most experienced but I defiantly understand the basics. Even though I’ve loved working with Meteor I’m considering going with Graphcool + Apollo + React for my side project.

This is partly as I think GraphQL is a more marketable skill (I’m a developer). It seems better future proofing for my project. Id like to go serverless. Id like to have less lock-in with 1 system - I was shocked to see Meteor was pulling in jQuery to my project! I know you can stop this but it illustrates the downside to the ‘black box’ approach.

From having a quick look at Graphcool + Apollo + React it seems easy to set up a database with reactive updates. It has a few authentication services (Auth0 seems to be popular). Theres a bit of a learning curve with GraphQL and maybe some more wiring but other than that what do I lose by not going with Meteor? The reactive database and user accounts was the big win for me with Meteor so Graphcool seems like a more flexible and potentially more performant solution.

Well, in all fairness, graphcool is another lock-in. If you want to go truly vendor agnostic, and willing to maintain a large set of dependencies which don’t always play well with each other without some serious tweaks, you can go with a pure node/react/graphql set up.

Furthermore, coming from the developer marketability perspective, using graphcool will not mean that you will have experienced developing a graphql server, you’ll just have used a graphql client and a specific graphql server implementation.