My journey towards meteor 3.0

Hello all,

I really don’t know if this is of any interest for someone, but I feel like maybe it could be of some use to have another thread to share some experiences and thoughts about moving projects towards meteor 3.0

About myself+my project: I have a private repo on meteor 2.12 + react + react native client, that is an app for the organization of schools, such as timetable and substitute schedules, resource management etc.

I have some server internal methods (~450) and quite a lot pubs and methods and just started building a restful api to get some existing third party apps connected.

All of this is done in my free time as a side project, since in my main job I’m a teacher, but I really love developing the project, since I hope it might help a lot of people in school with their job&learning. Currently I have around 3200 users using the app actively. I deployed the app at scalingo.io. When I started this project around two years ago I had no clue on nodeJS, react or anything, but since I white labeled Rocket.Chat + RN client for our school during the pandemic I came across meteor and love it since I finished the react todo tutorial :slight_smile:

This is how I move to 3.0:

First I used this guide here and the jscodeshift scripts to get a first conversion of my internal server methods. That really worked quite well, but some schemes won’t get covered (such as array.forEach(...) or array.some( async (item) => {} ) patterns like that).

In order to make sure that everything works as expected I‘m adding mocha Tests for all of these methods. That’s taking a lot of time but currently I’m at about 90% test coverage.

I also rely on several packages, like Roles and Migrations, also meteor-push and ostrio:files