Windows 10 safe to use with Meteor?

Windows 10 is here and I can upgrade but I don’t know if I should. Will meteor work properly?

I havn’t tried myself but don’t see why not. Changes should not be too big in terms of support for those things.

Personal opinion though. Switch to Linux if possible. The reason is that the hot code reload is much quicker. I had a discussion over on Reddit with what I believe was an MDG dev(?) that said they need to poll windows for file changes, whereas on Linux, I understood there’s a callback. The default on windows is every 5 sec to avoid frying your CPU. Can be overridden by setting an environment variable. People also say that the linux version of meteor is more stable. I have little knowledge of this due to my limited time with meteor. I haven’t experienced a lot of bugs on windows.
I changed recently to Ubuntu Linux. The reload time is almost instant compared to when I was developing the same app on Windows. Most of the same IDE tools are available too. I use IntelliJ IDEA(All in one version of Webstorm).

If you’re worried about trying Ubuntu just test out a live version. Boot on a USB stick without installing anything to try it out :smile:
Ubuntu is just as easy to use as Windows.

1 Like

I know that developing on Linux would be far more convenient. But I also need to rely on lots of graphics software unfortunately :frowning: . I’m a bit scared of switching also and frying everything. Though I’ve created a backup now, so maybe I’ll try it out. I don’t know how to use all the software I rely on with linux though :/.

Do keep us posted :slight_smile: What software are you relying on? You can dualboot a computer, meaning that you can have multiple OS on it. You just gotta reboot to switch OS. With todays computers that’s just a few seconds. It’s like an alt-tab with a 10 second wait ^^

1 Like